SOUND HOUSE is an activated performance/ installation
centered on a series of tasks that shape the sound in the room.
The tasks, based on sets of instructions, are enacted by a
group of performers and designers manipulating objects,
controllers, walls, video, and wooden figures/puppets. Their
tasks are specific and interdependent and emerge from our
interest in several areas: bricklaying/construction, sound
spatialization, the history of the Minuteman Missile project, time
and its measurement, and object/task performance.

In SOUND HOUSE, everyone is working, the general effect is
one of focused activity. In this installation, the room is the
instrument. Its dynamics are mechanically complex, but simple
in nature: the sound sculpts the space as the room structures
the sound.

SOUND HOUSE is conceived and created by John Eagle,
Janie Geiser, and Cassia Streb

Performers: Moira MacDonald, Brian Hashimoto, Tane
Kawasaki, John Eagle, Cassia Streb, Miguel Ayala, Ducky
Anderson, Chu-Hsuan Chang, Hsuan-Kuang Hsieh, Natalie
Nicholas, Natalie Ferguson, Olivia Xing and Janie Geiser.
Scene Design: Vincent Richards
Video Design: Hsuan-Kuang Hsieh
Lighting Design: Chu-Hsuan Chang
Puppet Design: Janie Geiser
Video content: Hsuan-Kuang Hsieh + Janie Geiser
Creative Technologist: Eric Heep
Video Tech Assistant: Natalie Nichols
Production Manager: Brooke Harbaugh
Technical Direction: JT Studio
Welding/Fabrication: Urbaniron
Additional Camera, Live stream to FB Live: Ly Eisenstein
Puppet and Prop Construction: Kristy Baltezore, Moira
MacDonald, Aubree Lynn, Janie Geiser, Miranda Kahn, Natalya
Serebrennikov and Stephanie Nemazee,

SOUND HOUSE premiered at the Wende Museum on Feb. 4, 2022 as part of the Music at the Wende series. It was developed through two earlier iterations,
in collaboration with a core ensemble of artists including Stevie
Nemazee, Miranda Kahn, Moira MacDonald, Brain Hashimoto,
Chu-Hsuan Chang, Hsuan-Kuang Hsieh, Audrey Densmore,
Natalya Serebrennikova, Tane Kawasaki, and Ting Zhang.

The development of Sound House was supported, in part,
by NEW/NET: a project of Los Angeles Performance Practice
and Automata; the Doris Duke Performing Artist Awards, The
CalArts Center for New Performance, MediaThe, and the
CalArts Faculty Development Fund.

Special Thanks to Miranda Wright, George Lugg, LAPP &
Automata, Travis Preston, Kristy Edmunds, Meryl Friedman,
Susan Simpson, Jorge Martin, Kristy Baltezore, Cordelia Istel,
Jordan Biren, Emily Call, Noel McCarthy, Lisa Dring and Brian
Getnick, Lewis Klahr, Alan Eagle.